Build a Strong Defense with a DUI Lawyer at Kitay Law Offices
Are you looking for an experienced DUI lawyer? If you were arrested for Driving Under the Influence (“DUI”), you should speak with a DUI lawyer right away. The attorneys at Kitay Law Offices have defended DUI charges for over 25 years and we are ready to help you.
Pennsylvania DUI Laws
Understanding Pennsylvania DUI law is important for your DUI defense in court. For that matter, this is something your DUI Lawyer in Pennsylvania already knows well. The police enforce DUI laws in Pennsylvania to stop motorists from driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Ultimately, a driver with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher may get a DUI charge.
Further, PennDOT has created a useful quick-reference chart that will help you estimate when you may be at risk for a DUI charge if you get pulled over. Remember, the police check for DUI at every traffic stop. So, if you have been charged with a DUI, contact the experienced DUI lawyers in Pennsylvania at Kitay Law Offices. Call us at 888-KITAYLAW or contact us online. We are ready to defend your rights.
Legal Alcohol Limit in Pennsylvania
The legal alcohol limit in Pennsylvania is less than .08%. If you are caught driving with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher, then you may be arrested for DUI. Specifically, following DUI penalties may apply if you exceed the legal alcohol limit:
- 0.08-0.09% BAC: About $300 in fines and probation for up to 6 months. In addition, you may be ordered to attend alcohol safety school.
- 0.10-0.159% BAC: Fines of $500 to $5,000, driver’s license suspension for 12 months, and no less than 48 hours and up to 6 months in jail. Again, you may also have to attend alcohol safety school.
- 0.16% BAC and up: Fines of $1,000 to $5,000, driver’s license suspension for 12 months, and minimum 72 hours to maximum 6 months in jail. Further, alcohol safety school also applies.
Note: The fines listed above do not include court fees and other charges. Thus, you should always speak with a DUI Lawyer in Pennsylvania to confirm the details of your specific situation.
KITAY LAW OFFICES
HAS BEEN FEATURED IN:
Increased Penalties for Prior DUI Offenses
Pennsylvania law provides more severe penalties if you have prior DUI convictions and you then get a new one. This is in addition to the stiff penalties you can get for your first DUI offense.
If you have one prior conviction for DUI and then get a new one for 0.08-0.09% BAC, the additional penalties may include:
- 12-month driver’s license suspension
- Between 5 days and 6 months of jail time
- Fine between $300 and $2,500
- Alcohol highway safety school
- 1-year ignition interlock
Importantly, the additional penalties listed above are only for one prior DUI conviction where the new charge is for the lowest level of DUI. The increased penalties get even more severe if you have more prior DUIs or your new conviction is for a higher level of DUI. Therefore, it is even more important to speak with an experienced DUI lawyer in Pennsylvania as soon as possible after you are arrested. Contact Kitay Law Offices online or at 888-KITAYLAW. We are ready to help.
Jail Time for DUI Charges
Jail time is not one of the suggested penalties for a first offense DUI in Pennsylvania. However, you can get jail time if the following additional circumstances apply:
- DUI charge involves an accident
- Driver refuses a blood or breathalyzer test
- There are additional charges like Resisting Arrest
Breathalyzer Tests Are The Law
Breathalyzer tests are law in the state of Pennsylvania. If the police suspect you are under the influence of alcohol, the law requires them to issue a breathalyzer test. Additionally, drivers license suspension is possible and the penalties are severe if you refuse to take the test. In fact, your refusal to take a breathalyzer or BAC test is effectively the same as failing the test!
Penalties for refusing a breathalyzer test were increased in 2018. In fact, you can read the actual text of the law (Senate Bill 553 of 2017) online. So, make sure you contact an experienced DUI lawyer in Pennsylvania as soon as possible. Kitay Law Offices is ready to protect you, so contact us online or at 888-KITAYLAW.
Why Should I Hire a DUI Lawyer in Pennsylvania?
You should hire a DUI lawyer to fight your case immediately after being arrested. This is because the clock starts ticking right away, and you cannot afford to make any mistakes. Furthermore, you may have a chance to have your charges dropped! This only applies in some circumstances, however.
Your DUI Lawyer Can Sometimes Get Your Charges Dropped
You may be wondering if you can get your DUI charges dropped in Pennsylvania. In short, yes – you can get your charges dropped for a DUI in Pennsylvania. However, getting a DUI reduced to reckless driving or dismissed entirely requires a strong defense from an experienced DUI Lawyer in Pennsylvania. Furthermore, drivers charged with a first offense DUI have a better chance of getting their charges dropped than repeat offenders.
First Offense DUI May Qualify for Deferred Verdict & Probation
If this is your first offense DUI, you may be eligible for a deferred verdict and probation. A deferred verdict and probation means your DUI offense may be removed from your permanent criminal record. However, you must make it through probation without getting into trouble. Additionally, you will need to speak with a DUI Lawyer in Pennsylvania to determine if you qualify.
A first-time DUI offender may qualify for Pennsylvania’s Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) program.
ARD is a special pre-trial intervention program for non-violent offenders with no prior record or a limited record. The purpose of ARD is to help prevent future behavior that may lead to another DUI.
About 90% of the people accepted into the ARD program have a DUI charge. If a person with a DUI charge can complete the ARD program requirements, he or she will be eligible to have the DUI offense wiped clean from their record.
For example, the ARD program may include the following:
- 6 to 12-months of probation under supervision
- Attend mandatory Highway Safety classes
- Loss of license for a time period depending on the BAC
- Complete a substance abuse treatment program
- Ordered to do community service
- ARD program cost is typically $1,500 to $2,000
After successfully completing the ARD program, you can file a petition to the court to have the charges dismissed and the case expunged. Your DUI lawyer in Pennsylvania can provide you with more information about the ARD program in Pennsylvania.
Getting Started with a DUI Lawyer in Pennsylvania
DUI convictions can have severe consequences for the rest of your life. Therefore, the criminal defense attorneys at Kitay Law Offices will build a defense to get the most favorable outcome possible. We will uncover the facts surrounding your case and provide a strong defense. We have been defending DUI charges for over 25 years. Therefore, get in touch with an experienced DUI lawyer in Pennsylvania at Kitay Law Offices by calling 888-KITAYLAW. In addition, you can contact us online.
Where can you find our Pennsylvania DUI lawyers?
- Allentown DUI Lawyer – Kitay Law Offices
- Berks County DUI Lawyer – Kitay Law Offices
- Bethlehem DUI Lawyer – Kitay Law Offices
- Chambersburg DUI Lawyer – Kitay Law Offices
- Easton DUI Lawyer – Kitay Law Offices
- Hazleton DUI Lawyer – Kitay Law Offices
- Lehigh Valley DUI Lawyer – Kitay Law Offices
- Philadelphia DUI Lawyer – Kitay Law Offices
- Reading DUI Lawyer – Kitay Law Offices
- Wilkes-Barre/Scranton DUI Lawyer – Kitay Law Offices
- York DUI Lawyer – Kitay Law Offices