Find a Property Crimes Lawyer at Kitay Law Offices
If you are facing a property crime charge it is important to speak with a property crimes lawyer right away. They can help you review the facts of your case and evaluate the best way to handle it.
Kitay Law Offices can help. We’ll review your case carefully and determine the best defense strategy. Working with an aggressive property crimes lawyer is most important. Building a strong defense is the best chance for clearing yourself in court. It is also important for getting the minimum penalty if found guilty.
In the state of Pennsylvania, examples of property crimes include the following:
- Criminal Mischief
- Institutional Vandalism
- Agricultural Vandalism
- Criminal Trespass
- Defiant Trespass
For more information about the types of property crimes, please see the Frequently Asked Questions section below on this page.
Property Crimes Penalties
Property offenses in Pennsylvania can have substantial criminal charges and penalties. In fact, the amount of damage to the property and the risk to people involved can increase the amount of charges. However, just because a criminal offense only involves property damage, that doesn’t mean there won’t be felony charges.
Minor property crimes can lead to jail time. However, your property crimes lawyer can get you less harsh punishments. For example, you might get probation, counseling, or community service. Still, the more severe the property crime, the bigger the possibility is that you will spend years in jail. There may also be substantial financial penalties. This includes the need to pay for repairs to any damages or replace the property all together.
Understand What Can Happen
According Pennsylvania law, the penalty for a property crime depends on how serious the charge is. For example, imprisonment and fines for property crime offenses, misdemeanors, and felonies are as follows:
- Summary offense: fines up to $300 and up to 90 days in jail
- Third-degree misdemeanor: fines up to $2,500 and up to 1 year in jail
- Second-degree misdemeanor: fines up to $5,000 and up to 2 years in jail
- First-degree misdemeanor: fines up to $10,000 and up to 5 years in jail
- Third-degree felony: fines up to $15,000 and up to 7 years in prison
- Second-degree felony: fines up to $25,000 and up to 10 years in prison
- First-degree felony: fines up to $25,000 up to 20 years in prison
Contact Kitay Law Offices for Help
Don’t risk going to jail and having to live your life with a criminal record. Furthermore, think about the impact a conviction can also have on your family. If you share custody of your children, the conviction could be used against you. This may be used as a reason to lose your custody, reduce your custody, or deny you visitation altogether.